Home | Annual Meetings | Awards | Membership | History | By-laws | Officers & Contact info | National ASM

2006 Meeting of the North Carolina Branch of the American Society for Microbiology


Thursday, October 12th, 2006 (This is the first day of Fall Break for the UNC system). Registration at 8:00am, meeting 9:00am to 5:00pm


Ruby C. McSwain Education Center at the JC Raulston Arboretum, Raleigh, NC.
Visitor information includes the address, parking instructions, and other useful information about the arboretum.
Driving directions includes a map as well as a description of how to get to the arboretum from any direction.


Email notice of intention to attend to before October 5, 2006. The $10 registration fee (plus $10 NC ASM membership for non-members) is payable at the door. Registrants will receive a program (including abstracts and attendee roster), a box lunch and morning and afternoon refreshments.

Tip: The registration/membership form can be downloaded, printed out, and filled out in advance, saving you time at the meeting registration table.


8:00 am Registration
  Poster and Talk set-up
  Coffee Break
  Awards Committee's organization
8:45 am Sherrice Allen Welcome and Introductory comments
Session I – Molecular/Cellular (9: 00 am to 10:00 am) Sherrice Allen, Chair
9:00 am Henry S. Gibbons Identification of two Mycobacterium smegmatis cell envelope sugar-binding proteins that depend on the SecA2 protein
9:20 am Justin A. McDonough Beta-lactamase (BlaC) as a Genetic Reporter to Identify Exported Proteins of the Tat pathway in Mycobacterium tuberculosis
9:40 am Dilan R. Weerakoon Respiratory Chain of Campylobacter jejuni
Poston Award Winner!
10:00 am Poster Session I (Unattended)
  Coffee Break
Session II - Pathogenesis (10:40 am to 12:00 pm) Wrennie Edwards, Chair
10:40 am Belen Belete The Pseudomonas aeruginosa response regulator AlgR controls twitching motility by activating the fimU-pilVWXY1Y2E operon, which is required for proper assembly, localization, and export of type IV pilin monomers.
Melton Award Winner!
11:00 am Terry L. Morris Signaling Cascades Triggered by Bacterial Metabolic End-products During KSHV Reactivation
11:20 am Gina Parise Role of a Putative Polysaccharide Locus in Bordetella Biofilm Development
11:40 am Elizabeth Waligora DNA binding properties of Pseudomonas aeruginosa AmrZ
12:00 pm Poster Session II (Attended)
Session III - Environmental (1:20 pm to 2:00 pm) Jim Brown, Chair
1:20 pm Bongkeun Song Detection and Diversity of Anaerobic Ammonium Oxidizing Bacteria (ANAMMOXA) in the Cape Fear River Estuary
1:40 pm Ann G. Matthysse Genes Involved in the binding of E. coli O157 to plant surfaces
2:00 pm Coffee Break
Plenary Session (2:15 pm to 3:13 pm) Daniel Williams, Chair
2:15 pm William Shafer Drug Efflux Pumps and Bacterial Pathogenesis
3:15 pm Poster Session III (Attended)
4:00 pm Sherrice Allen Thank you and Concluding Comments
4:15 pm Business Meeting
  Election of New Officers
5:00 pm Adjournment

Poster presentations:

# Presenter Title
1 Reha O. Azizoglu Role of Growth Temperature on Freeze-Thaw Resistance of Listeria monocytogenes
2 Anna Lisa De Obaldia Difference in mating of Cryptococcus species on pigeon guano defines their ecological niche
3 Kenny Esho Effects of Mechanical Stretch on Fetal Lung Type II Epithelial Cells
4 Liesl Jeffers Sjogren’s Syndrome is associated with BK virus
5 Ine Jorgensen Characterization of Iaps, a Novel Family of Secreted Chlamydial Inclusion-associated Proteins
6 Melanie Lee-Brown Phylogenetic analysis of Azomonas insignis.
7 Luyan Ma Analysis of Pseudomonas aeruginosa conditional Psl variants reveals roles for the Psl as an adhesin and in maintaining biofilm structure post-attachment
8 Jessica McCann b-lactamase as a reporter for protein export in Mycobacterium tuberculosis
9 Danielle McLaurin RNase P in Pyrobaculum?
10 Benjamin Mudrak Investigating the interaction between heat-labile enterotoxin and lipopolysaccharide
11 Holly Oates Molecular Determination of Uncultured Novel Arsenate Reducing Bacteria in Estuarine Sediments and Groundwater
12 Kristina Rehm The Poxvirus A35R Protein Down-Regulates the Immune Response
13 Nathan Rigel Genetic analysis of the SecA2 secretion pathway of mycobacteria
14 Andrea Rockel Identification of DinB, a novel DNA polymerase of Pseudomonas aeruginosa
15 Ro Shauna Rothwell Mechanisms of Oral Viral Reactivation and Pathogenesis
16 Timothy Brian Shirey Detection and Diversity of Denitrifying Bacterial Communities at the Cape Fear River Estuary, North Carolina
17 Kris Spaeth Mapping out the pathogen-host interface on the parasitophorous vacuole of Chlamydia trachomatis.
Best Poster Award Winner!

Information for presenters:

Poster setup will be during registration, 8:00am-8:45am, and will remain up for the duration of the meeting. Posters will be mounted on corkboards (BRING PINS!). The maximum poster size is  3 ' x 4' - We have 8ft boards, and 2 will go on each side. The first poster session (10:00-10:40 am) is unattended; you don't have to be there. The second poster session is over lunch - try to spend the time between 1:05pm and 1:20 at your poster. The third poster session (3:15-4:00 pm) is attended - please plan to spend this time at your poster.

Talk setup is during registration, 8:00-8:45 am.  Bring your presentation either on a CD or a USB memory stick, in either Microsoft Powerpoint or Apple Keynote format. These will be copied to a computer (we'll have both PC and Mac) connected to the projector during the setup time. If you have other software needs, plan to bring your own laptop & we'll plug it into the projector at the appropriate time.

Printed material:

Organizing Committee:

Sherrice Allen (President-elect)
James W. Brown (President)
Geraldine Luginbuhl (Treasurer)


Sherrice V. Allen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Department of Natural Sciences
Fayetteville State University
1200 Murchison Rd.
Fayetteville, NC 28301
phone: (910) 672-1046
fax: (910) 672-1159

Last updated by James W. Brown | Department of Biological Sciences | College of Sciences | NC State University