Home | Annual Meetings | Awards | Membership | History | By-laws | Officers & Contact info | National ASM

Phibbs Paul Phibbs Award

This award, first given in 2007, is awarded for the best presentation (posters or talks) by an undergraduate student at NC ASM Branch meetings. The award is named in honor of Dr. Paul Phibbs who was an early advocate of undergraduate student research presentations and posters at the annual Branch meetings. He was actively engaged in graduate education and research training at Virginia Commonwealth University, Medical College of Virginia (1970-85), and at East Carolina University, Brody School of Medicine (1986-2007), where he was Professor and Chair of Microbiology & Immunology. Dr. Phibbs was continuously involved with the ASM in numerous academic and leadership roles throughout his career. Since retiring to the Asheville area in 2007, he continues to be a strong advocate of undergraduate research mentoring and of student membership and participation in the ASM.

Phibbs Award Award Recipients

2015 Fall Sarah Stanley North Carolina State University
2014 Fall Maliha Talib North Carolina State University
2013 Fall Shelby Roland North Carolina State University
Allie Amick North Carolina State University
2010 Fall
Stephanie Lambeth University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Ben Jeuck Western Carolina University
Fall Amanda Tarnowicz
University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Brittany Baffer & Amanda Tarnowicz University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Last updated by James W. Brown | Department of Biological Sciences | College of Sciences | NC State University